11 replies to this topic

#1 keny

keny

Angler

• Visitor ~ NOT A SUBSCRIBER YET?
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 28 April 2009 - 09:09 PM

I'm thinking about buying a Sea Fox maybe the 23 footer, but don't know much about them. I've heard that they have electrical issues but only on the 2005 and older models. I'm not wanting to spend a whole lot of money on this boat because I currently have a 07 Ranger Bay 2200 w/250 Evinrude E-tec and I'm only wanting a larger center console to go out maybe to 20 miles at the most. I'll only use it maybe 10-15 times a year and don't really need all the bells and whistles. I really just need something that will take me there and back comfortably and dry. I usually only go out in 2-3 ft waves and less because I'm not that experienced in offshore fishing (actually no experience in offshore except with a charter boat). I'm not sure if I want to take my Ranger boat out that far although I've heard of people doing so in calm conditions. I was looking at the Sea Fox's because of the price, but not sure if it's the right boat for me. I'm not looking at a new boat only the used ones in the year range 2003-2006.

If anyone is currently a Sea Fox owner, please tell me about your experience with the boat both good and bad.

Thanks.

#2 adurso

adurso

Angler

• Pip
  • 9 posts
  • MY BOAT:MarJay SeaFox 236

Posted 28 April 2009 - 09:41 PM

I have an '06 236 CC with a Suziki 150. The fit and finish is not that of a Contender or another 100K boat. I have beat he snot out of it and it has not fallen apart. My neighbor has the 21 footer about an '04 and really beats the snot out of his without anything falling off. There is some minor gel coat spider cracking, but I had that with my SeaSwirl also. No structural issues at all. No electrical issues.

I bought mine in 07 with two kids in college the cost did not break the bank.

#3 grayfox

grayfox

Mate

• PipPipPip
  • 61 posts
  • Interests:fishing and hunting with my kids
  • MY BOAT:seafox