Bait & Tackle

Fiberglass Repair

Long Bay Pointe

Marina 

Rudee Head Boats

Sign in to follow this  
latemp

do fish finders mean more caught fish?

right now i don't own a boat. i'm thining about getting a canoe or kayak eventually, but until then i'm just renting boats. i've never used a fish finder before, but i'm hoping to boost my luck with one. i've been looking into getting a portable one like the hummingbird fish buddy. anyone ever use one of these before? how do they compare to a regular fish finder? and can i expect to see better fishing with one?

latemp, yes they help a lot ...... a fish finder is a valuable tool. While an inexpensive one might not mark fish as well as you hope, it will help you find the right bottom or structure to fish over. I just picked up one for chasing striper's on Smith Mountain Lake. A Lowrance Elite-5 Fishfinder/GPS Chartplotter. Good luck .... tight lines!

Latemp:

I kayak fish and I have a Hummingbird 170. It is a lower end product, you can get one for about $100. There have been times that it cued me that there were fish under the yak and I caught some based on that knowledge. However, for the most part, I use it to identify depth and bottom structure. When I striper fish, I don't even bring it with me. So, for me it depends what species I am fishing for and how well I know the area. It is just another tool.

Not sure what you are aiming to do but I find a fish finder extremely useful, essential for saltwater fishing in some cases. In my opinion, it would be too clumsy for use in a canoe, but can be mounted and used in a kayak.

By the time you buy a canoe or kayak and install a fish finder, you might be able to find a used bass boat with a fishfinder already installed.

Eric